How much better is lightroom?

<p>I am currently using the trial of Lightroom 3. Previously all of my editing has been done with elements 5, and DPP from canon.</p>

<p>Is it worth the upgrade? So far it seems to be a HUGE time saver from my old way of doing things... it seems fast, and the noise reduction on the images from my 5D seems much smoother than any other way of doing it.</p>

<p>Are these perceptions correct or is there another program that might be worth my money?</p>

<p>Oh and by the way I am a teacher, so I am looking at getting the program at a discounted price instead of the 300 it will normally cost... so is it worth even the $300?</p>

<p>I guess my biggest question is... will I outgrow lightroom? I'm an avid amateur photographer, just wondering how powerful Lightroom really is since I wont be able to get into everything in these 30 days that I have to test it out.</p>

<p>It's well worth the $300, but Adobe is very good about offering educational discounts.</p>

<blockquote>

<p> ...will I outgrow Lightroom?</p>

</blockquote>

<p>Anything is possible, but I'm a professional with about 18 thousand images on file, and I'm not worried at all about "outgrowing" Lightroom.<br>

It is, however, primarily an organizational tool. I use Photoshop extensively for hard core image editing.</p>

<p>Unlike Greg P. I am an amateur photographer who uses LR and thinks it is a wonderful program. Its strength, IMO, is as an organizational tool, but it also has almost all the editing functions that PS has, enabling you to do most, if not all, of your editing in LR</p>

<p>The educational price of Lightroom is around $99, if I recall. (I teach too.)</p>