how exactly does slide film processing work?

How exactly does slide film processing work? Hello to all, I want to

say first of all that I am a green rookie in the photo field as my

question will reveal. I have gotten many complements on the images

that I have taken so far in my short venture in ths wonderful and

magical past time. Nature photography is my new passion. The spot

I love the most is the Great Smoky Mountains. Cades Cove is a

wildlife wonderland to me. My equipment started with a Canon 300

Rebel Ti with a 35/80 mm 4-5.6 and a Canon 75/300 mm 4-5.6. I

quickly fell in love with them and the bug bit me and I went out on

a limb and bought a Sigma 170/500 mm 5-6.3. I know that most of you

will say that was probably a bad decision. I did however get some

decent free hand shots of some wild turkey in full strut at about

200 yards away. Streams and waterfalls are also at the top of my

list, along with deer and black bear, and the beautiful mountain

landscapes. I have been turning some my better prints into 8X10's

and framing them and decorating my home with them. My wife wants me

to do more of them. In the last month I purchased a new Canon

Elan7n with a 28/105 mm 4-5.6. I believe this camera will do me for

years to come. I also purchased a 5 piece Tiffen filter set and a

Tiffen tripod whuch is far more superior then the cheap Wla-mart one

that i had. Now to my question: I am doing a photo album of

nothing but wildlife and nature pictures. The rest of this will

really show my greenness. When you process a roll of slide film,

what do you Get? is it just a slide that is very small? or is it a

negative type slide like what goes in a slide projector? I know

this is probably quite funny to most of you veterans but I really

don't know. I know that most of you are going to say why bother

with slides at this point, just use good print film. I like most

all beginners long for the quality and vivid color of the images I