How do you politely decline?

mark_parker2

I've got a customer who has called me once a week for about a month. Each

time she has told me that she will have her daughter call and set up a

consultation. The daughter has never called. We've set appointments that she

ends up canceling. I've never once spoken to the bride. They refuse to meet

me for a consultation on my terms or my location and insist that I meet them at

their home. I'm a low end photographer and they want my low end package.

I've kinda been getting the willies about them for the past few weeks and

something deep inside tells me that this is gonna be BIG TROUBLE if I take it.

I'm tempted to meet them, but unless the bride is going to be an incredible

portfolio builder, I'm not going to take it.

What do you tell a client like this?

Well you need to stand clear on certain factors. I do think that your intial reaction of this bride is probably correct that she is going to be very difficult! It will probably continue throughout the entire process making tons of appointments and having them cancel. This just isn't what you need to deal with. Just let them know that you think they would be better suited to a different photographer. Let them know that you don't feel comfortable taking on their kind of wedding as of yet. Or just tell them that the date is taken and you couldn't hold it for them anymore. That is the easier course. Good luck!!

I would second Ellis' advice, but with the caveat that I would not say anything that isn't true.

"Sorry, but I'm no longer available on that date" is much better than stating you have already booked that time slot for another client, if you haven't.

It's a very subtle difference, but I really don't think it's a good idea to lie to potential customers. Even if you don't want their business.

Eric

You are no longer available on that date. No other explanation is needed or should be given.