how do you geolocalize your photos with a D500

didier

<p>Dear all,<br>

I wonder what's the best way to get the GPS coordinates on my photos.<br>

Snapbridge isn't yet available, and there are maybe other solutions. What's your advice ?<br>

Thanks</p>

<p>Didier</p>

<p>I have been using Nikon's GP-1 and GP-1A for several years, and so far I am quite happy with their performance. Those two are identical units. The only difference is that by default, the GP-1A comes with a newer CA10A 10-pin cable that has a larger thumb screw that is more convenient to fasten onto the body.</p>

<p>However, Barry Clemmons has warned me a few times that the cable can get in the way sometimes. That was exactly what happened to me during the recent southern Africa trip. Eventually I damaged the cable between the GP-1 and the 10-pin connector.</p>

<p>I am investigating that perhaps something like DawnTech's GPS unit that plugs directly into the 10-pin connector without a cable is the better approach.</p>

<p>I am using Dawn Tech GPS, which is number 4 I have used and by far the best. I admid, I have never used Nikons own due to price. The Dawn Tech is fit to my D810 on a permanent basis, and only occasionally moved to my D700. The only "problem" I have had, is that the first abt. 10 photos I took one day all had the GPS position of the last photo taking the previous time I used it. I simply started to early e.i. before it got the new satellite connections. Now I switch the camera on in the morning before leaving my accomodation, as it does not use a lot of power.</p>

<p>It's not clear where you get the GPS coordinates from, GPS receiver, smartphone or other. Programs that add GPS data to photos are Geosetter (free), Lightroom, Robogo (paid). Personally I use a GPS receiver (Garmin Oregon) plus Lightroom, this works well. Previously, before LR supported GPS, I used Geosetter a few times, it works well too but the interface is/was less inuative than LR's. </p>