How do I break into Advertising Photography

So I graduated Ohio Institute Of Photography about 2 years ago. I moved from Ohio to Kansas City Mo in

order to find myself and to "see whats out there". I have now returned back to ohio after living and

working in KC for about 2 yrs. I assisted for some folks and learned alot. Now I find myself starting over

in Ohio. I'm at the point where I feel ready to be the photographer. I have contacted most all of the

Studios and Photographers in my city as an assistant and nothing has been steady. I guess my question is

really a three parter... FIRST is my work good enough to get some advertising cliental .... SECOND how do

I get advertising cliental... THIRD where do you think my strength is?

You can view my images just click www.photo.net/photos/JEFF SESLAR

Jeff:

I don't think it's my place to answer one or three, but you get these sorts of clients with regular direct mailings followed by offers to show your portfolio. Like so many other small service businesses, a photographer's strength is often in their mailing list.

Good luck.

Hello Jeff,

Let me be the first to chime in that I think your work is very good. Your strength, in my

opinion, is in the area of product & table top. There's nothing wrong with your

architectural work either, I felt that it was a bit weaker than the product work on the page

you directed us to.

Tenacity, perserverence and a constant beating of the pavement with your portfolio are the

keys to building awareness of your services. I might suggest doing some homework, ask

around among other studios will to share, look in local publications to further target types

of markets where your skills will be most in demand and your time spent most profitable.

Once you have an idea of the type of work being commissioned most in your area, you

might develop a body of work to target that market.

Quarterly direct mail pieces are also very usefull and a cost effective way to keep your