How do I ask permission to use a location?

hana_mohalo

<p>I'm an aspiring fashion photographer, I have the 'student card' to pull (my mom says always tell them you are a student they'll want to help you out?) and obviously I don't have any money compensation. How can I properly ask for use of a location or be allowed to shoot somewhere?</p>

<p>Specifically for my next project: my model and I have a list of hotels we'd like to work in a room and maybe in the lobby. But we can't afford the 400$ a night or anything. The studio is in the city so it has to be over the phone and the receptionist told me to call back later when the head of human resources was going to be there! I know maybe we won't get any permissions for free but I won't know until I try!! At least this one hotel from my first college would let students use their public space for shoots! (No where near there now). It's a small shoot: 3 people. I don't have large equipment, I'm pretty unobtrusive (should I mention that?)</p>

<p>And for future reference, what about if I have a store, cafe, ect in mind? Has any bold daring photography asked permission from any home owner even? (OMG there are AMAZING houses near me - haunted mansions, garden cottages... it is my dream come true to shoot there)<br /> Thank you *.*</p>

<p>You'll be suprised how many people will say yes if you ask simply and respectfully. Have answers ready for their most common questions. Act professional.</p>

<p>The biggest reason I would not allow someone to shoot on my property is liability. In the unlikely event someone got hurt, by a falling piece of equipment or loose cord, who's going to pay?</p>

<p>If you have personal liability insurance, be sure to have the certificate and mention it to prospective site owner/managers.</p>