How big a deal is it?

Discussion in 'Philosophy' started by rosmini sukardi, Jun 23, 2007.

1. How important is an appreciation / understanding of the philosophy of
    photography in the actual making of a photo?

Specifically, does it enhance your work or provide an extra dimension to the
    photo that you produce?

Free for all... lets hear it. :)

2. "Specifically, does it enhance your work or provide an extra dimension to the photo that you produce?"

Absolutely it does. All trades and pursuits require one to have a clue. Even the simple act of watching a football or baseball game requires one to understand what's going on or it won't make any sense.

Many folks come here saying two things, I'm a noob and I can't seem to do anything original. Gee! Go figure. :)

3. 'Absolutely it does'

If I may ask, Thomas - in what way?

4. "How important is an appreciation / understanding of the philosophy of photography in the actual making of a photo?"

What do you mean "in the actual making of a photo"? Do you mean releasing the shutter?

5. "...THE philosophy of photography ..."

No such animal!

6. "Photography is the only major art in which professional training and years of experience do not confer an insuperable advantage over the untrained and inexperienced - this for many reasons, among them the large role that chance (or luck) plays in the taking of pictures, and the bias toward the spontaneous, the rough, the imperfect."

Sontag

7. Don: Everything from the time an image is formed in your mind, to the timing of the release of the shutter, to post shoot processing.

8. What is the philosophy of photography?

9. An unexamined life is not worth living.

The only real sin is ignorance.