jim mucklin

I am just starting my learning curve, and would like to start out

with a set of 500's, for main and fill. Any recomendations on the

kits available like the Smith Victor, etc? Also from what I read I

can use an 80A with my regular outdoor film, is that correct? I just

want to do my basic study before I go to strobe, I understand there

are advantages to both.

Thanks in advance

From what I am reading it can be done either way, Im just starting out with this project and just what to do small still or maybe single portrait and just want to learn, I don't have to light up the world, I would like to get the theory down before I drop a fortune in strobes, I understand you get what you pay for.

I know what you mean. I did a little copy work with nothing but a set of shop lights. It was B&W so no need to worry about the colour. Lighting filters I think are cheaper then glass filters and you'll have a bright view finder. You might want to check how much power hot lights need. When I used the shop lights a total of 500 watts didn't deliver much light. That's about 4 amps.

A filter on the lights or lens will cost you about 2 stops. If you then bounce them into an umbrella or shoot them through a diffuser, you loose another 1-2 stops. I used to do this and found that by using 400 ISO portrait film, 500 watt lights were workable, but I was surprised at how slow the shutter had to be. Unless I used a wide aperture I definitely needed a tripod.

I preferred to put blue filters on the lights. That kept the subject from getting as hot. Unless you can cool the room, this becomes a big issue.

I also found that getting the right shade of blue wasn't as important as you might think. There is quite a lot of allowable error with most portrait print film. You could also shoot without any filter, but correcting that after the fact, was too much for most processors.