suzanne_glassman

Hi - I am new to Photo.net and am looking for some advice re: a road

race I have been hired to photograph. I have a D70 with a 24-120 3.5-

5.6 lens. In practicing, I am having difficulty getting the auto-

focus to work when someone runs by me -- I can only get a focused

pic. when standing face-to-face with the runner. Any suggestions? I

also have to begin photographing at dawn and am wondering whether I

should use a flash or push the ISO higher (I am worried about the

noise in anything higher than 200!). Thanks for any help.

Suzanne,

you should have reasonable noise at 800 or below with the D70. Experiment prior to the race to see how your camera does. If you object to the amount of noise you're getting at 800 but still need that kind of ISO to get good exposures, I'd suggest getting Neat Image or Noise Ninja. These programs do wonders in eliminating noise at higher ISO settings.

As for the focus, make sure your camera is set for continuous auto-focus. Then set your AF type to lock on (not sure of the specific setting on the D70 - read the manual). This will allow the camera to establish focus on your subject and adjust as you pan with the runner's change in distance-to-camera. Unlike the single-servo setting, it doesn't require the camera to establish focus before the shutter fires. Continuous is the best setting for sports and moving subjects. Combine that with shooting at shutter speed of around 1/180 or faster and you should get better results.

You're probably okay at least up to ISO 800. Dan's other suggestions above are good too.