Has Anyone Here Ever Heard of "Joint and Several Ownership"?

robert_drouhard

<p>Hello everyone!<br>

I am a newbie who needs some help. I have been asked to enter into an agreement where I would "joinly and severally" own the copyright to my photos with another person. The other party promises this means I retain all the rights to the photos, but I'm doubtful. I can't find any information on this type of arrangement.<br>

Also, what should I charge for this? I ask because it is a very large number of photos (just over 4,000). They are digital pictures of the Middle East taken with a D50.</p>

<p>Greetings, Robert. First let me compliment you on acquiring such a significant image collection! Secondly, this proposal sounds risky, and I would <em>definitely</em> consult with a copyright attorney before signing <em>anything</em>! AFAIK, the photographer owns copyright to his own images, unless he gives specific publication/use rights over to a second party. Good luck!</p>

<p>Joint and several ownership means that each person owns the full right to use the property to the fullest extent it can be used and potentially suffer up to all all the liability that may arise from it as well. Each party has what the other party has. When one person dies the other is left with sole ownership. Its like a joint checking account in many ways. This is distinguished from ownership known as tenants in common although that phrase is often associated with real estate. Tenants in common own a half interest. They may be able to use something to some large extent but ultimately they only are credited to owning half. Particularly when something is liquidated or someone dies, ect.</p>