Good Beginner 35mm?

alyssa_meza

<p>I'm taking a photography class at my local community college. The teacher said that we need a fully manual 35mm camera. Apertures, shutter speeds, and focus should all be adjustable, and it should have an internal light meter. I just want suggestions on what models you think would be good for this, I'm a complete beginner. Preferably something not to expensive.</p>

<p>The old Pentax K1000 35mm was the quintessential student camera. It meets all your class requirements and is dirt cheap but very rugged and reliable. Pentax made a zillion of these cameras so they should still be readily available from any place that sells used 35mm cameras. You should be able to find one on eBay for about $50.</p>

<p>Danny Low</p>

<p>I believe that the standard camera for students is the Pentax K1000. The "K" indicates that the lens mount is the later bayonet type, as opposed to the earlier M42 screw mount.</p>

<p>There are cheaper equivalents from Ricoh and other manufacturers, which use the same lens mount and are functionally identical. </p>

<p>If you live in or near a large town or city, look around the charity shops (called "goodwill" shops in the US, I believe). There are often very nice cameras available for very little money in such places.</p>

<blockquote>

<p>Apertures, shutter speeds, and focus should all be adjustable, and it should have an internal light meter.</p>

</blockquote>

<p>Basically, <em>ANY</em> SLR (or DSLR) can do this. I would verify with the teacher if it must be fully manual with no automatic options available at all (which means you'll need one of the older cameras already mentioned - which often can be a bit more expensive because essentially, they're beautiful cameras), OR that your camera must allow for each of these to be available fully manual - in which case, you could also consider getting the dirt-cheap AF consumer bodies such as a Canon EOS300, Nikon F65 etc.</p>