Giving away CD's ?

ricardovaste

<p>The feedback I get is that most almost seem to expect a free CD at the end of a Wedding today. It seems to me like some photogs are happy to have their time paid for, and then almost have no value on the images that they've collected & simply hand them over.</p>

<p>I wonder, is this just a gesture of good will, or do people actually come back for prints/albums after that still? I guess you'd have to make some sort of clear point (perhaps send a sample) of the quality differences in print that you get when going to your photographer...?</p>

<p>In <em>my </em>experience, the photographers who offer a disc at the end of the night are on the low end of the spectrum of talent and price. It seems that it's the preferred business practice of the "I got a nice camera and now I'm a wedding photographer" crowd.<br>

Once you give them the disc, it's nearly impossible to gain any print sales. They are either happy looking at them on the computer or they go to a local lab or drugstore to have prints made.</p>

<p>Digital has brought a new world which requires a different business model.<br>

As long as one reaches their profit goals, why does the income mix matter anyway?<br>

and Steve, a successful business gives the client what they want <strong>at a profit</strong>.</p>

<blockquote>

<p>Think in reverse. As a client what would you want most? A DVD of images for sure</p>

</blockquote>

<p>Actually, I would rather have an album with about fifty pictures in it (which is what I have) but most people now just want images on CD or DVD which they can upload to Facebook.<br>

If that's what people want then there is a business opportunity to supply it.</p>