Getting my Name out there

tom_mason

<p>Hey guys,<br>

My names Tom Mason and I am a young wildlife photographer working in the UK. My question to you guys is how do I get my name "out there" ? At 17 I am balancing my photography and school work but I would love to turn professional eventually. Have you got any recommendations of how to expand my views and readership? <br>

I currently have a BLOG : www.tommasonphotography.blogspot.com<br>

but have you got any ideas on ways to make myself known to a wider audience?</p>

<p>Being in the UK it probably wouldn't hurt if you won 'Wildlife Photographer of the Year'.</p>

<p>Tom, your dream is the dream of 10,000,000 other photographers. My best rec is to enjoy photography as a hobby and not worry about it as a profession. If this were my only goal in life though I'd probably study all the nature photography masters figure out how they did it and then find a different way to do it myself.</p>

<p>At your age I would find a few professionals you really respect and love the work of and start seeing if they would be your mentor or work for them as an aid. (Even if you have to volunteer for a while) You will learn the fastest by doing that, and also by being politely aggressive towards your own work. You have nothing to loose, yes there are lots of other people with the same dream, but I've found the few things that separate the successful photographers from the hobbyist is the amount of time they commit to the work, and how persistent they are in always reaching for their goals. I’m now considered a professional and I’m starting to see my work take off, but at the same time I have two small children and a full-time non-photo job so the amount of time I can commit to the photography is less than I like. </p>