Future new Zeiss lenses for Sony Alpha cameras?

randall cherry

<p>Hi All,<br /><br />I am thinking about switching from my Mamiya 7ii medium format film cameras to digital for landscape photography. In order to achieve high image quality with the digital system I'm considering the Sony A900 and the Zeiss lenses. I have some previous experience with Zeiss glass, and I think a good Zeiss lense can really add to image quality (assuming the camera/sensor is up to the task, which I think the high end Sony camera/sensors are).<br /><br />The Zeiss lense selection for the Sony Alpha cameras is a great feature of the Alpha cameras, but is very limited. My concern is that the range of Sony/Zeiss lenses won't be expanded anytime soon. Does anyone know if Sony plans to expand the Zeiss lense offerings for the Alpha mount cameras in the near future? (By "near future" I am thinking somewhere in the next year or three). I am especially interested in prime lenses and wide angle lenses.<br /><br />(Please note that I am not trying to suggest that the Sony G lenses are not good lenses. I've heard that some of the Sony G lenses are actually very good. Its just that I know Zeiss lenses tend to be <em>outstanding</em> lenses.)<br /><br />I am also considering the Canon 5DMKII, due to its large selection of high quality L lenses. But I am under the impression that the Canon L lenses, while generally very good, do not compare to the Zeiss equivalents.<br /><br />TIA.<br /><br />--Randall</p>