Film scanners

What do you need to scan?<br>

Color/BW<br>

Neg/Slide<br>

Transperancy/Prints<br>

35mm/120/4x5...APS?<br>

Final output: Web, 4x6's, 8x10's, Poster size prints???<br>

Spending: $100,$500,$1000,$5000???<br>

Answer those first, then we can come up with a sensible answer for you.

I've been using a Minolta DSE-5400 for 35mm for 13 months now with excellent results. I shoot 80% silver B&W and 20% color negatives. generally, I can get fine 13x17 prints out of its scans.

For medium format and 4x5 I have an older Epson 2450 that I hope to replace soon for a 4800.

Based on your needs, you definetely don't want a flatbed style as you are doing 35mm only. You will get much better quality and value from a non-flatbed scanner. Also, as you do some color, I would suggest trying to get a model with Digital ICE or equivalent, and disabling it when doing B&W scans. As you are going to be trying to make prints out of your scans, definetely go for the best DPI/quality you can afford, though 8x10's aren't much of a stretch for film scanners these days, so you might not have to spend all $1000.

<br><br>What kind of computer are you hooking it up to? Definetely want to have LOTS of RAM (1GB-+) + HD space (10's-100's of GB free), and a decent processor (Pentium 4 equivalent and faster). A USB2 or Firewire interface, based on needs of scanner, is certainly a plus too. PCI/PCMCIA cards for these are dirt cheap if you don't have the port built in.<br><br>

As for specifics, you have a lot of options, but I have always been amazed at the price/quality of the Minolta Dimage line. Take a look at some of these.

I've been working with a Minolta Scan Dual II since about August, 2000. It makes very

good scans at 2820ppi, has few fancy features but since my negs are clean I don't need

them. I've made prints up to 11x17 inch (250 ppi output resolution) that look great from

full frame 35mm negs. The current equivalent of this scanner costs $270.

<br><br>