joe_schome

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie to the forum but I'm hoping that the more experienced folks

can give me advice. For our wedding my wife hired a well recommended

photographer company and agt the last minute she hired a lesser known

videographer. We didn't want any long fancy video of getting ready, etc, just

the ceremony and the reception.

At the reception the videographer and the photographer got into a fight (water

was thrown on someone not sure who) and the videographer threatened to leave.

We convinced him to stay until after our first dance. The video guy said that

the photo people kept getting in his way and they did not extend any

professional courtesy.

Now after the wedding we're trying to figure out a way to get some sort of

video (anything would be nice). The video guy said that the situation was

created by the photographer and that he will have to do extensive editing to

prepare a polished video. He claims that since the photographer created the

situation (blocked shots, etc), that they should pay him for the additional

time that it will take for preparing the video. To give you relative scales,

the photographer contract was about $3K and the original video contract was

about $500. The videographer claims that his additional time for editing will

cost roughly $1500. The video guy is not asking us to pay, but rather the

photographer. The videographer will not release to us unedited video. I

haven't yet talked to the photographer but I know full well that they're not

going to agree to this. While I can understand that the photographer could

have created a bad situation I can't shrug the feeling that we're about to be

extorted for more money.

The videographer offered to give us our money back with no video. We'd be

happy with unedited video for the original price but the video guy said he

won't release unedited video.

Any suggestions?!?!?..... please?

Mike