F3 Flash for wedding: TTL or not?

jon hui

Hi everyone

I've a few questions and I hope you can enlighten me.

A good friend of mine has a wedding coming up in June. He wants to

save some $$ and has asked me to be the photographer on that day

(probably the only photographer). I currently have a FE, 24/2.8 AFD,

50/1.4 AIS and a 105/2 AF, plus a F3HP, which was acquired not too

long ago. I also have a Metz auto flash with a guide no. of 36 that I

don't use very often.

Now here are my questions: since I'm not experienced with flash

photography, I'm thinking whether to acquire a TTL flash to be used

with my F3. Knowing that there're now things like D-TTL and i-TTL, I'm

wondering if plain TTL would measure up effectively, i.e. would I be

able to get accurate exposure with the F3's TTL flash? or is

D-TTL/i-TTL much better?

I understand that the AS-17 adapter would be the way to go, but that

together with a TTL-flash would not be cheap. Should I invest in this

combo, or just get a used SB-16 (don't know a or b)?

I'm hoping I won't be slowed down by rewinding and changing films on

the day of the wedding. With the F3, do I have to take the flash off

in order to rewind films? Would you recommend adding a MD-4 to speed

things up?

If the best way to go is with the AS-17, new flash and a MD-4, would

it make more sense just to get a used F80 + flash? since the cost

could be about same.

I actually prefer to approach the wedding documentary-style, but it

seems inevitable that I'll have to take lots of "standard" photos too

and flash is crucial for that, I presume. I hope you can let me know

if there's something missed. Cheers

I have shot a few low buck weddings for my son's friends in need. I

used my N70 in manual exposure mode, a Vivitar 285HV Auto Flash

mounted on a Stroboframe Pro T flash bracket, the 35mm end of a 18-35

zoom, an AFD 60 Micro, and a 105 2.5 AIS.

I don't know what Metz flash you have but a guide number of 36 sounds