Extension tubes Kenko or Canon

sunnyindy

<p>Hi. I've been staying in Wrangell - St. Elias Park, Alaska until late September. I'd like to photograph wildflowers in this area in addition to landscape and wildlife. Since I don't have any macro lenses, I'd like to add an extension tube. I use Canon 5D Mark II + 24-105mm, 17-40mm, 70-300mm, 100-400mm. I've never used any extension tubes before... I looked at Canon's extention tubes and Kenko's set (12, 20 & 36mm). It seems like the Kenko's set is a good value. Does any one of you used either Canon's or Kenko's? Do you recommend one over another? Please share your opinion.</p>

<p>I have a set of th Kenko's and they work just fine. Since there is no glass, there really isnt an image quality issue. I rarely use them though because I have found that most of the time my Canon 100mm f2.8 macro lens is good enough. It was a bit pricey, but for how well it does, I think it was worth every penny.</p>

<p>Canon's extension tubes are better constructed than the Kenko tubes.<br>

I agree with Thomas, if you can afford it purchase the Conon 100 f/2.8 macro. I love the IQ that I get with it though I don't need to shoot greater than 1:1 when shooting macro.</p>

<p>I use a 25mm Canon tube and a 36mm Kenko tube. Both are made from metal bellow with plastic parts. They are very simular in material and construction. The only different is the Canon one has extra valvet light baffle in the form of a inner bellow while the Kenko tube does not have that. See pictures. I use the 36mm Kenko for its 11mm extra length. I don't stack tube. Either Canon nor Kenko seems stable when stacked. Have to say, the Kenko tube works just fine.</p><div>00TRuZ-137329684.jpg.5e26f7dce5092b241b4b145788e49dc8.jpg</div>