Exposure or developing issue?

dirk-san1

Hello,

I am fairly new to LF, using a 4x5, currently using TXP 320.

The other day I shot and forgot to stop down the lens, but I realised it and made a second

exposure. After processing I found that the negative overexposed by two stops looks a lot

better than the "correctly" exposed one. I know that box speed is not always real speed,

but two stops difference seems a lot.

Looking at another pair of negatives where exposure is one stop different, I cannot see any

difference between the negs whatsoever. This is also very odd.

Maybe my processing is to blame. I am processing in trays with constant agitation on a

self-built frame that holds 8 sheets of film fixed in the tray, similar to Phil Bard's frame. I

am using Xtol 1:3, which is quite diluted, maybe too much?

Anyway, looking at some of my previous negatives, I find a lot of shadow areas that when

scanned, strangely enough, look like flare. It happens sometimes, but not always. I am not

sure whether those two things are related though, but I have a feeling they are because I

never get the fog on well-exposed negs.

I am really stumped by this, can anyone give advice?

Dirk<div>00AJxA-20740184.jpg.f65c0b6cc315494f4515993cf4a1dd08.jpg</div>

I would suspect development.

Look at all of the negs that were developed in the same batch and see if the 'flare' is in the

same part of the frame.

Xtol 1+3 isn't recommended in general..lots of people still use it though. There is a

minimum recomended amount of Developer for a given amount of film. 8 sheets of 4x5 is

a lot of film...

Don't change too many variables at once or you will never figure it out!@

jmp

Thanks, yes, I consider 4 sheets as one 35mm, thus 100ml of developer and 300 of water.

It doesn't occur in all pictures of a batch, although if it occurs it is always in shadow areas,

and often in the lower part of the frame.