Emotional attachment to work...

<p>I hope this is the right forum to post this question in... Keep in mind that I am not as bright as most of the rest of you, but I will try to keep up.<br>

I was having a conversation with a friend, mentor may be a better term, about being emotionally attached to your work and how that could cause problems with your execution of it.<br>

I am not a proffesional photographer, however, I love photography and take learning about it seriously. I sincerely wish that I could create something that really hit home, something that really had some emotional value to it, that would capture some ones attention. I don't think I have produced anything like that, ever.<br>

The point is, I was picked up a while ago for a graduation ceremony shoot. I did the work, felt horrible about it and sold quite a bit of it anyway. I also had a blast. I could really see getting into that type of work, even though it's not your event its something you can relate to. My friend was talking to me about my work on that occasion and photography in general and told me that I had no direction. When I said you know, I would really like to get more into event photography he said that I was too emotionaly attached to the work and would be better off not pursuing more work in that area.<br>

If you, as a creative proffessional, are supposed to create something that sparks some type of emotion from another person, how can you be "too emotionaly attached" to it? Wouldn't one have to be?</p>