(EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM VS. EF 24-105mm f/4L USM) VS the EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM mk II

smithmaestro

<p>Well, just for a thought, I should post this question up.<br /> <br /> Out of all the professional photographers, what would you recommend for basically Portrait/Outdoor sports/Indoor Sports/Landscape photography.<br /> <br /> Well, I also do want to save up my money for these lenses, so i came up with this equation for the lenses as shown above. And yes, hopefully you do know that new 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM II beast lens. Well, just for the fact, if you do choose either of the minor lenses (in the brackets), that means you choose either one of those lenses (or recommend) and the 70-200mm. I'm not a professional, and the reason I'm asking is because I'm planning to save up my money for a lens, and most would say the 70-200 for sure, and I would too, but just another one for backup, not that i would buy, but I would buy if I do get the chance, before the 70-200.<br /> <br /> So I'm interested in Portrait for sure! Sports both in and out, and landscape...<br /> <br /> <br /> Let the games begin!</p>

There is a great temptation to think that the best lenses most be the biggest, baddest, and most expensive looking lenses.

The lenses in your list are all fine lenses, and photographer's who are serious about their work might choose to get some

them... or very different lenses.

I like to say that if you are asking people which lenses will be best for your very general needs, it is probably not time to

be buying lenses. When you have photographed enough that you have a very good idea of what lens features are most

critical to you in your photography you'll be ready to line these lenses (and others) up against you needs and make a

choice.

I'll also note that you dud not mention what camera you shoot or what you do with the photographs. These things can make a significant difference.

Dan

<blockquote>