Editing photos and monitor brightness

<p>Hi! I'm a slight newbie to 'really' getting into editing photos/printing.</p>

<p>I've read a bunch of the calibration posts but I still feel that my question is unanswered:<br>

<br />Where should I have my brightness adjusted to on my monitor? I'm on a 17" Macbook and I adjust my brightness frequently depending on lighting. But when I'm editing photos I keep it at just above 50% and then adjust exposure and such by eye (but I've been using the histogram a lot as well).</p>

<p>Does a calibration program work for this? Is the monitor calibration on OS 10.6.8 legit enough? </p>

<p>Thanks for humoring and learning me. :-)</p>