dx vs fx

melissa_arcuri1

<p>I am finally making the switch to digital that I have been vehemently been avoiding for several years. My knowledge is VERY limited, in fact while I am a good photographer I have always been bad at understanding the technical stuff. So. My 1st question is this...what is the difference between dx and fx?</p>

<p>Use the search feature at the top of this page (change the pull-down search target selector from "Adorama Store" to "All of Photo.net") and try the phrase "dx vs fx" for bountious discussions along these lines.<br /><br />But: an FX sensor is the same size as your familiar 35mm negative. A DX sensor is like a smaller crop out of the middle of it. So, the field of view you're used to for a given focal length will be narrower. DX sensors, being smaller, are less expensive to manufacture.</p>

<p>The FX ( 24x 36mm) format is about 225% larger than the DX format of 16 x24 mm. Said another way: the DX sensor is less than 45% the area of the FX sensor.<br>

If you have two camera both with approximately the same megapixel resolution -slightly more than 12 mp as in the D300 vs. D700 & D3 -- this means that the same number of pixels are spread out over a larger area and each individual sensor pixel is larger. The benefit of the larger sensor pixel is that if all other things are otherwise equal lower noise at at all ISO (sensitivity) settings and depending on the processor in the camera , better dynamic range.</p>

<p>There is a world of influences on photo quality beyond and indeed in front of the pixels however: primarily microlens arrays, and the in camera processing pipeline ( yes even for raw files).</p>