dslr recommendation for motocross action photos

alex_w4

<p>i am an amateur photographer who enjoys taking pictures while out at the motocross track. the majority of the photos are action shots ranging from 10mph to 50 mph and want a clean crisp still shot. one of my concerns is shutter lag. i dont want to push the shutter button when the front of the image is in my view finder and have it record the back of the image as it passed. i would like to take multiple pictures in rapid succession without using the multi-shot setting that will take 3,5 or 9 photos with one touch. some of the photo opportunities are gone as fast as they appear. if some one could please give me their recommendation of a Nikon dslr camera based on the information i have submitted.<br>

Thank you<br>

-Alex</p>

<p>I used to be an MX racer. Still have my 175cc Husky in fact. What you need is a used Nikon D300 and either a Nikon 17-55mm f2.8 or a Nikon 24-70mm f2.8. The latter lens would be a better focal range. If you are only shooting in daylight, a Nikon 24-120 f4VR might do it, and the lens range would be about perfect. Get a fast CF card too. You might consider using off camera flash, such as the new Einstein monolights. One or two of those plus CyberSync triggers, and a Vagabond lithium battery pack would allow you to shoot some really pro looking stuff.</p>

<p>Kent in SD</p>

<p>To be Honest I am looking to buy a used camera. today while looking on Craigs list I found a Nikon D80 with different lenses each increasing in strength all included for a very reasonable price.. I would expect to spend around $400 to get started with a decent body and lens. what is your opinion on the D 80 or the D3000? As they are very similar.</p>