Do you show all of the photos taken in a session to your client?

Hi,

I'm just starting out and plan to start charging for my work in

another few months. For now, I'm doing children's portrait sessions

for free for friends and acquatinances. So, if I take anywhere from

150 to 250 pictures in a session, how many of those should I show to

my client?

I edit all decent pictures and never show them unedited ones. But,

how many proofs should they expect to see from one , 1 hour session?

Many pictures are the same pose, but maybe a different tilt of the

head, etc.

I'm editing everything and it takes forever. Opinions?

Thanks

NO!!!!!!!!!!!!

Like the old saying goes, "you're only as strong as your weakest link".

You're only as good as your worst shot. They WILL remember that not so great shot your threw in there, thinking, I could do that!

With that said, 125+ shots????? Wow! This is your first problem. Yes kids are a little more diffacult and sometimes you just shoot & pray. You're taking way too many pictures to begin with. Make them count.

For a single person I take what I think are the best 8 and put in a folio. I may or may not hand them a few more nice proofs in an envelope.

For your second problem. Kids will not last 1 hour for your typical session. You need to be ready to go when that kid comes in. Unless you have a unique way on entertaining the kid he won't last very long at all. When you think you have what you need, try to get a couple insurance shots and call it a day. Adults, unless they're a model can't take an hour of posing.

Part of this will come with experiance. Once you have your style you won't worry about every little tilt of the head.