Do I need Photoshop?

purplealien

<p>Hi<br>

I'm new to digital, and I'm slowly learning how to use Nikon's ViewNX2 and Capture NX2.<br>

I'd like to have a go at combining RAW files (i.e. a RAW exposed for the sky with one exposed for the land) in a single image. I can't work out how to do this in Capture NX2. Is Photoshop the best way to do this?<br>

Must admit I'm finding the range of Adobe products a bit confusing.<br>

Which product is best?<br>

What can PS do that Elements can't?<br>

What is Imageready?<br>

I'd really appreciate the help. PS in particular is very expensive, and I've already (perhaps foolishly) bought NX2!</p>

<p>Thanks<br>

Chris</p>

<p>You weren't foolish, buying NX2. It's a very powerful editor and handles Nikon's RAW files better than any other piece of software. Despite having other editors (including those that can combine images/objects), I use NX2 for most of my processing. <br /><br />If you're particulary interested in stitching images, use NX2 to render TIFs or JPGs, and then work on them in another package. You certainly don't have to spend Photoshop kind of money. Check out free trials of tools from Corel, for example.</p>

<p>Another vote for NX2 - my RAW conversions with this are much superior to anything else I've used including Adobe Camera Raw. For HDR type work, I'd not bother with Photoshop - there are other tools around (FDRtools, Photomatix etc.). I'm using a Panasonic G1 now as well as the D300 and find having to use non NX2 raw converting software are real pain!</p>

<p>I personally would have a hard time getting along without the full version of Photoshop. But for a beginner, Photoshop Elements is more than adequate.</p>

<p>Not the least of the benefits of Photoshop Elements is that it is in many way preparation/training for using the full Photoshop in general.<br>