Digital Photo Printing

johncampi

<p>First off I'm sorry if these questions have been asked and answered already. I couldn't find anything all that relevant so if you don't want to respond but rather point me to a thread with this info that would be great as well! <br>

<br />I'm kinda new to this digital photography thing and I am getting to the point where I would like to make a couple prints. However I am somewhat confused when it comes to certain aspects. <br>

First: Aspect Ratios. I understand aspect ration in general, you cant make an 8x10 print <br />from 3:2 ratio without cropping (or cutting) off 2 units. 3:2 amounts to 8x12 where as 5:4 amounts to 8x10.<br>

So my question is: what about when I do a "custom" crop. Say drop the top of the photo to make it more "panoramic looking" or bring the sides in a bit to get rid of a tree branch. How do I figure out its ratio and dimensions for printing? <br>

Second: resolution. I shoot in RAW. I edit to my liking then I convert/save to JPEG. I use LR4. When exporting photos you have the option of "quality" and "pixels per inch" or "pixels per centimeter. The default was set to quality-90 and ppi-240. <br>

What is the best settings for printing. Should I put the quality up to 100 and raise the ppi or switch to ppc and raise that? Not sure what the standard or tradition is when it comes to exporting for printing. I usually dont mess with the settings if I'm just going to be putting the photos online. <br>

<br />Lastly: How big? How big is too big? Do I keep it modest or should I push it? <br>

<br />Thanks for any advice. I REALLY appreciate it! <br>

<br />John </p>

<p>You can print a 10" x 5" photo on 10" x 8" paper and trim away the wide blank strip. JPEG quality 95 is no worse than 100 but means rather smaller files. The standard for high quality work has been 300 PPI, but acceptable prints can be had from much less. I'll recommend that you start with modest sizes.</p>