difference (D200, D2X, D2Xs)

Discussion in 'Nikon' started by davidblevins, Mar 30, 2012.

1. Can someone please tell me the difference between a D200 and a D2x and a D2Xs. What would you rather have? I am an advanced amateur. My friend is telling me that a D2x is better than sliced bread!
    thanks
    David Blevins

2. they're all obsolete at this point, but a D2x is the best of the bunch.

3. D2XS is actually newer than D2X. And better...
    I would rather have a used D300 or perhaps even a D90 at this point than any of those, though. Much better in low light for sure. go to bythom.com for some good reviews of ALL current and former Nikon DSLRs.

4. they're all obsolete at this point​
    That's a ridiculous comment. They are old, yes. Sensor technology has improved dramatically, yes. But to say they are obsolete is just hyperbole. You can pick up a D200 for like $400 these days and for certain people, that makes a lot of sense. D200 can meter with old manual focus Nikkors and offers great image quality (if you don't need high ISO). D200 also has high build quality, nice feature set and great ergonomics.
    I don't have experience with the D2x. The used prices on these seems to still be high, so a used D2x probably appeals to a more limited crowd. But David, if you want a great features/build/ergonomics and can tolerate a less than state-of-the-art sensor - I say take a look at the D200. At the very least it is a cheap entry into the vast world of manual focus Nikkors.

5. ShunCheung

ShunCheung Administrator

Back in 2005, the D2X might be better than sliced bread, but now in 2012, it is a very out-of-date camera. I would highly recommend buying something newer. I still own a D2X, and I haven't used it in 4+ years.
    What type of subject do you shoot and what is your budget? Do you have any existing Nikon lenses?