desktop vs laptops - pro and cons

<p>Dear friends, my previous search has just brought up some older threads, and as the computer technology is going fast, I therefore try asking this question again. If this already has been debated to death, please forgive me, and please direct me to the newer threads.... :)</p>

<p>So, My Dell desktop is close to 6 years old, and I fear that it is approaching the last part of its ife span, and I have to buy a new computer. What are the pro and cons of desktop vs. laptops apart from the obvious: You can carry the laptop everywhere. </p>

<p>Please note that I am not a professional photographer, just an enthusiast, so money/budget matters. I do not want to stir up a pc vs. mac debate here, so please, let's us discuss windows-pc's only. I do not want to learn a new system now.</p>

<p>Help me out here, guys, please!</p>

<p>Laptop displays usually have a poor viewing angle. Just moving your head slightly can cause the brightness to change significantly. Battery life is usually a higher priority than a bright uniform display.</p>

<p>If budget matters, for the same performance, a desktop is cheaper, in a laptop you are paying a premium for miniaturization. </p>

<p>I have to say what I say to all my University users, which is that the ONLY reason to buy a laptop is portability.<br>

In almost every case, a desktop will give you more for your money, be easier to maintain and upgrade, last longer, and be unlikely to get lost, stolen, or dropped.</p>

<p>The best computers all have the i7 chip but the laptop ones are usually degraded with slower speeds to conserve battery life. And if you do a price comparison for a decent modern configuration between a desktop vs laptop both with i7s, 8gb ram, 1gb video card and 1tb hd you'll find that the desktop is about 1/3-1/2 the price of the laptop.</p>