Department Store Photographer

mont

<p>Hello,<br>

I am a photographer and I also own a motion picture prop house and we are working on a film right now that takes place in the late 1940's and we need to know what kind of camera a department store photographer would use in the late 1940's at a department store such as Capwell's in Oakland, CA. I have many cameras in my inventory but I have no research showing a department store photographer in the late 1940's. <br>

Any help with this would be awesome.<br>

Thanks so much,<br>

Monty</p>

<p>Most department stores used 4x5 cameras for most things right up until digital took over. The Crown Graphic was a pretty prominent camera from the 30's up into the 50's, but I wouldn't doubt that a more technical view camera might have been employed for stills. Hasselblads weren't made until 1941 and with the war, I wonder if they would have been found as widely used in the 40's as later on. I wouldn't bet against the Crown Graphic being used for fashion or the same technical type 4x5 that would have been used on still objects.</p>

<p>Sheet film cameras were popular for on-demand studios because you could process individual images rather than waiting until a whole roll was completed.</p>

<p>I think one of the Graphics, perhaps the Pacemaker, would be acceptable since they were widely used by news photographers of that era, so the cameras, accessories, and film were all readily available. I think the Crown came out in the 1950s.</p>

<p>More info at www.graflex.org</p>

<p>- Leigh</p>

<p>Show him holding an Exakta VX-500 at arms' length and staring at the back as if it had a digital display there, and be sure to include the loud "click-WHIRRRR!" of a motordrive. Don't have the photographer use the wind lever, either. Nobody will notice except the people on this forum, and you'll still be in the upper 5% percentile of accuracy in depicting cameras/photographers in movies and TV.<br>