D5000 vs D60

aj_thorn

<p>Good Morning Everyone!<br>

I am new to the dslr world. Ive mainly shot film on an early 70's Nikon (which I freaking love!!!) but now I feel its time to get with the times. (I also had access to a photo lab where I could devolpe and print my own pictures in their dark room, but no more... :*(<br>

I want to stick w/ Nikon because it's what Ive always known. The lenses I have for my current Nikon are nothing special and should not be considered in your advice on which camera I should go with.<br>

I am looking at the D60 and the D5000. I like the D90 but I think it will be too much $$ as I also need to pick up things like a tripod, bag, SD cards, etc. I want to stay around $1000 when its all said and done.<br>

I usualy shot landscape but I also like to shot pics in the city or when Im out w/ friends, but have mainly used a point and shot in the past.<br>

So I am here asking for advice, thoughts, comments between the two cameras (or even another camera I havent even though of!). Also if you could recomend good places to find good deals, it would be helpful!<br>

Thanks in advance!!!</p>

<p>I would lean toward the D5000, it has all the latest technology. I believe it has the D90 image sensor. I am getting it for my wife. I messed around with it at the camera store and found it to be pretty nice camera. I think the swivel screen will make getting some interesting angle to your shots possible. Plus video would be nice for those moments when you don't have your video camera. </p>

<p>Between the two? Hmm probably D5k, just because of the sensor tech. That said, consider the D90. In the long run, the AF drive and other features may be critical. I've only used the D40x, and honestly I think it's a great camera, but I did outgrow it quite fast.<br>

Alvin</p>