D50 + Nikon 18-200 for sports?

sire_404

The new Nikon 18-200 has gotten extatic reviews all over. My question is, can

you use it's whole potential with D50? Is the autofocus speed all in the lens,

or does the camera have any effect? Or more to the point: is the 18-200 really

this good as the review states when taking sports photos __with a D50__?? (and

not a D200 used in the review).

Thanks for any clarifications, I'm quite new to this!

The review: http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/18200/18200-focus.htm

The camera also has an influence on AF speed. I can't say for sure how much difference there would be between using the lens on a D50 and a D200, but the D50 will not be as good. Perhaps at least as much to the point so far as action sports photography is concerned, the aperture of f/5.6 at the focal lengths you're most likely to be using will limit you to daytime shooting in fairly good light in order to get fast enough shutter speeds to freeze the action unless you are able to use a fairly powerful flash (often frowned on in many sports, though you do have the benefit of a fast 1/500th X sync speed). The useability of the combination will depend on the sports you intend to shoot.

If you can get the 18-200 to 'act' like a f2.8 (or a f2.0) lens, then yes. But with ISO 1600 (fairly good on the D50) _ the all-in-one zoom for action is going to be tough to use. The VR function makes the camera-lens steady, but it does nothing to stop a running football or soccer player under [very often] crappy stadium lights.

You can use that combo for sports (action oriented, I assume,) but most likely won't be very happy with user experience and resulting photos. If the sports you're refering to includes action and requires you to instantaneously freeze the frames, then I think something like 80-200mm f2.8 would be a better lens choice.