D300 settings for wildife and bird photography

ilonkameyer

<p>I am going on a 12-day trip to the Kruger National Park in South Africa. <br>

I have recently bought a Nikon D300 and I am looking for some advise as to what to set the custom settings to before I go. <br>

I am a amateur wildlife photographer and it will be the first time that I will be using a semi-professional DSLR (previously had a entry level DSLR). I have not had much time to play around with settings before I go and don't want to spend the first 5 days trying to troubleshoot (I will also have no internet connection so won't be able to look up solutions for problems I encounter). <br>

Although not optimal (but it is what I have and can afford at the moment) my kit will include:<br>

Nikon D300<br>

Nikon 70 - 200mm f2.8 VR II<br>

Nikon 24 - 70mm f2.8 VR<br>

Nikon 17 - 55mm f3.5 - 5.6 kit lens (don't have money for a better wide angle at the moment)<br>

Nikon TC-20E II Teleconverter<br>

Any advise would be much appreciated.</p>