Crash course using 420EX on T2i

robert_thommes1

<p>I need to know the very most BASIC user's instructions for my 420EX flash. I have never used any shoe-mounted flash before...at all.<br>

So I'm looking for some basic settings to at least get me started for indoor shooting, but even more importantly, for outdoor fill flash usage. I shoot with a T2i camera and plan to use both a 50 1.8, and 70-200 f4 IS lens. I will use a flash bracket as well.<br>

I understand that you will not be able to give me detailed instructions(and I really don't have time to learn those)because the ambient light (especially for the outdoor shots....which are the more important ones for me)differs by the locales. So just a couple general settings that might get me OK shots is all I'm asking for right now.<br>

I've got myself in a bit of a bind, and only have VERY little time to experiment before I must take the pictures. Not the ideal situation, but one that I'm stuck with.<br>

Thank you sooooo very much for helping me out.</p>

It is a very simple flash that I had used one for quite a while. Basically, if you are not using it as a slave flash, all you need is to slide the main switch to on and leave the wireless selector on off and make sure the shutter speed on your camera is equal or slower than the max sync speed. For outdoor if you want to use a shutter speed faster than the max sync speed, just slide the high speed sync swithc to the right (with a thunder and 'H' symbol). Wireless off, main switch on and depend on your situation, high speed sync on or off. It's that simple. Hope this helps.

<p>Hello:<br>

The 420 EX is a great little flash. I have been using one since they first came out. You can find the 420 EX manual online.</p>