Concert Photography

<p>I'm hoping someone can help me with some advice and information. First of all, I am not a professional photographer. I know that might limit the response I get but I don't want to pretend I am something I'm not. Here's my question. I've been approached by a local concert venue to photograph their shows for them. It's a mid-sized venue (5k) in a small market. They're interested in pricing and I have no idea what to charge or what kind of standard agreement there is for this. Normally they're only posting 5-10 photos on their website, but I'm not sure if this is a reflection of cost or availability of quality shots. The ones they're posting are ok, but not great by any means. I'm not sure if they're buying specific shots, paying a flat fee for everything and then using what they want, or if they're paying for x # of shots and the photographer submits the ones he wants them to have. Also, there are 2-3 publications that would also be in the market for photos. Would marketing photos to them also normally be allowed in this type of work? Are there any other issues I haven't thought of? I'm sorry for the bombardment of questions and I appreciate any information.</p>

<p>Thanks</p>

<p>Byron - </p>

<p>Here's some things to factor into your "bid" - 1) you are not a pro. 2) you have equipment and other expenses to cover. 3) pricing to a certain extent will depend upon your location. (ie New York City is going to be expensive than Backwater, MN.) </p>

<p>Some things to consider before undertaking this: <br>

1) Get insurance - liability and equipment (what happens when your lens shade falls off and hits a concert goer in the head - Don't laugh - actually saw it happen once) <br>

2) Some (MOST) acts will specify how their images may be used. Further resale of the images may be prohibited by the act. <br>