Collapsible Background or Bed Sheet?

kerrick_long

<p>I'm a photography student living in the dorms (and maybe soon, a not-much-bigger cheap apartment), and I'm pretty serious about photography (leaning towards portrait/studio work, I think). I'm throwing a Portrait Party in my residence hall at the end of March, and I'm wondering about equipment.</p>

<p>Should I go down to Walmart, buy a white and a black bed sheet and some dowels, sew the dowels into the bed sheets for weight/straightness, and use those for backgrounds? Or, should I buy a Collapsible Background like <a href="http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?A=details&Q=&sku=541110&is=REG">this one</a>? I'm pretty sure that if I bought the background I would get LOTS of future use out of it, but it's almost twice what I'd expect to spend on a DIY solution.</p>

<p>Thanks in advance for any advice!</p>

<p>Bed sheets make a decent backdrop. The big problem you might get with it is that a flash may flash through it and you will see the outline of what is behind it. If you handle a backdrop cloth you will feel that is it a much heavier material than bed sheets to prevent this from happening.</p>

<p>I have never used the backdrop you looked at and cannot comment on how well it would work. I use regular backdrops. They are rather long so you can cover both the wall and the floor. This is useful when the floor can be distracting such as when it is a rather bad carpet. A good muslim cloth is under $50 and I have see some for $35, which makes them within spitting distance of the price of a bed sheet.</p>

<p>My recommendation is buy a muslim backdrop cloth. You can then pin or tape it to the wall. You do not need to sew dowels as it is heavy enough to lay flat. The big cost item are the stands which it looks like you do not need right now and can purchase later. It is only a few dollars more and a lot less work than the bed sheet set up and much better for photo use.</p>

<p>Danny</p>