Close-up accessories for 80mm C

philip_maus

I've seen a few posts on this, but frankly, I'm still not sure what I'm looking

at. I'm new to MF photography and I am currently using only an 80mm C type lens

with my 'new' 501C Hassy. I was a little surprised at the minimum focus distance

of nearly a meter on this lens and, wanting to get the most out of the lens, I'm

looking into what's available for close focusing gear. I don't care so much

about reproduction ratio and stuff like that; I'm not doing high precision macro

work. Can anyone illuminate me on the best and most cost effective (read:

cheapest)way of decreasing minimum focus distance, such as, what? extension

tubes?, some kind of adapter rings? 16mm? 30mm? What does mm refer to on this

type thing? How are these devices used, or what do they do? Are bellows used

with this lens? I'm feeling a little ignorant on the whole subject of closeup

methods for this lens and format. Are there some pros and cons to these methods?

All I know is, with 35mm it was easy - go spend a few hundred on a macro lens

and you're done. I don't have 2 grand to drop on a long focal length Zeiss macro

lens and looking for a workaround. Thanks in advance for your responses.

cheapest and easiest are probably proxars (lens that attaches to front of lens). Ome would say this was the cheapest, easiest and worst.

Second choid would be extension tubes. availalbe in 8, 16, 32, and 56 mm (new ones) olders ones have slightly different sizings.

Third would be a belows or a 120 macro planar lens which may actually

be the easiest.

If you go for the bellows which may be the best there are some good arguments around that say you should not bet the automatic bellows.

G -