Capture NX-D, external editors and NIK Collection

ficarelli

<p>I am not a professional just a hobbyist still learning (actually, learning a LOT here at Photo Net) and my workflow is simple. I use View NX2, Capture NX2, Nik Collection (stand alone) to edit my photos as in a darkroom and sometimes Photoshop Elements 12 to pixel edits and rarely to work with layers with Nik Plugins. I also use ACDSee Pro 6, but just to organize because I don't like Adobe Organizer, personal choice. <br /><br />As I just do a few touch or make B&W conversions and I basically work inside View NX2 and call Capture NX2 and Nik Collection plugin (in stand alone mode) using Open With function, also View NX2 let me make a menu with my favorites plugins. I'm very happy working this way.<br /><br />Well, when Nikon announce Capture NX-D, I tried it and didn't like specially because it would brake my simple workflow.<br /><br />I gave a new try and today I found out that the "Open With" function on NX-D works not only the same way but also let me open NEF edited files with Nik Plugins and Photoshop. Capture NX-D export edit files as TIFF when using "Open With" function, no need to save as TIFF before open with Nik Plugins, the same with Photoshop that don't open Camera Raw. It does the same with Capture NX2, but for me don't make sense to open a TIFF file on NX2.<br /><br />I found out I can keep my workflow replacing View NX2 with Capture NX-D.<br /><br />The only thing is when calling a Nik Plugin from NX2 it saves the file on the same folder you are working in, except to Nik HDR2, you have to use Save As or it will save on My Pictures folder (Windows 8.1). On NX-D it saves on "Place Open With File in" on Preferences, Nik HD2 also save in this folder, no need to Save As. I hope Nikon can give the option to save on Current folder, or a sub folder of the current folder, with no need to edit it.<br /><br />For me looks like NX-D is a good replacement to View NX2 (no Video Edit though), but I no