Canon Vs Nikon for weddings?

john_w9

Hi I have been using Nikon for the last 2 years and as you may be aware I am attempting to move in to the wedding

market, we all have to start some where

I'm starting to lose sleep and live on review sites.

Therefore before I purchase on Friday one last question

which one for weddings

Canon EOS 5D + Canon 24-105mmF4L IS USM Lens

Nikon D300 + 17-55DX lens pro kit

I look forward to your replies

Thanks

John

john - both ktis are pretty awesome.

if you are a slow and steady shooter and like bokeh, the full frame is goign to give it to you.

if you are a fast, ninja shooter who likes low light situations, you will like the speed of the D300 and the speed of the 2.8.

IMNSHO...The only thing that attracted me to Canon were the fast primes. They are worth the money.

Otherwise I detest the system. I abandoned the 580 flash for Metz.

Whoever thought of that stupid wheel should be flogged, tarred, and feathered. Going on two years and it's still a

PITA.

ISO 1600 is the max I would shoot with either system. Nikon seems to have even the playing field in the sensor

war.

I shot the 5D for a year and felt it overpriced. All you are buying is the full frame. The 40D is it's equal in every

respect. I think switching for was a dumb move on my part. Rarely have I said... "dang I wish I had full frame."

One consideration I think is very important is the lack of dual card slots.Not having a built in backup system is

underrated and an accident waiting to happen.

I am not sure if your OWN Nikon gear, or have just been using it: if you own Nikon, I suggest you stick with it.

(I bought into a Canon System when I cut over from Film to Digital because Canon had a 135 format (Full Frame) DSLR, and also the Canon fast primes)