Canon E0S 20D Low Light, Action Photography

I am currently an aspiring sports photographer for DIII college

athletics. I am working with volleyball. I am very comfortable

working with SLRs, but am having a difficult time transitioning to

the 20D DSLR.

All of my shooting happens in poorly lit gyms (the main problem).

I am using a tripod, have my aperature wide open, and am still am

having difficulty freezing the action if my shutter speed is even

close to where it should be for a correct exposure. My ISO has been

at both 400 and 800, I am currently expimenting with higher ISOs. I

have dropped my lens size down to a 18-55mm and still can't seem to

get the light that I need to stop the action.

Any thoughts? What would you recomend? Have you had these issues?

Thanks for any feedback!

I'd recommend fast lenses, 50/1.4, 85/1.8 or 135/2, all used between f/2 and f/2.5, and as high a sensitivity as appropriate to freeze action.

At ISO 3200 f/2, in "typical indoors light" (LV7), you can use 1/1000s.

personally I have seen LOTS of flashes at sports events. SO I kind of agree with Peter. get a big flash (this will work ok in volley ball there are other sports however that a flash will not help much,, as Keith mentions though, make sure the players are fine with it you don't want to get in trouble).. ALSO, get a lens with a larger max aperture. the lenses you are probably using are only capable of maybe f/3.5 or f/5.6 depending, YOu see those big white round things attached to the pro's cameras for a reason.. relatively large apertures on the pro lenses.

<I>I have dropped my lens size down to a 18-55mm and still can't seem to get the light that I need to stop the action.</I><P>

I'm sorry, but the above is totally incomprehensible; sort of like saying that you've replaced all your office furniture with leather but your internet download speed hasn't improved. What does the focal length have to do with the amount of light you need?<P>