Can you sell pics to 2 newspaper?

<p>Hello everyone,<br>

I'm hoping my question is in the right category. I am currently a student in photography and while I'm only at the very beginning of my courses, I sold pictures to a local news paper and I need help. <br />Not really knowing what I was doing, I contacted 2 newspaper with my photos (A boat on fire viewed from different angles at different steps of the fire)<br>

The chronicles and the West end times.<br>

I emailed both of them at the same time. The West end times told me they would take my photos, and asked me to drop a cd at their mailbox. I did so and I didn't hear from them for 4 days. When I did, they only told me they picked the CD up. Nothing else. Very short and, to me, unprofessional conversations.<br />The chronicles replied to me right away and asked me to go to their office the next day. I met the editor in chief, she looked at my photos, told me they would use 2, that they would pay me 16$ each photos. Asked me to do an invoice and told me they would love more of my shots if I witness more events. Very professional meeting which pleased me.<br>

I have many questions if I may.<br>

Because I sold my shots to the chronicles, does this mean they have the exclusivity? Will I lose my chances to work for them again if they see my shots on the west end times?<br />As of right now, I don't know if the west end times will use my shots or not. They don't tell me anything. <br />Can I ask the west end times to not publish my shots? If so, how exactly do I say that?<br>

I didn't sign or say anything about the copyright of my pictures. <br />What do I do now?<br />Given the opportunities, I'd love to work for the chronicles again, as they are more professional and also, the west end times is 70% advertising. The chronicles, is more of a real newspaper.<br>

Thank you very very much for your help.</p>

<p>Ana,<br>