Rob_L1664876404

So I don't get too many responses saying I didn't give enough

background information, here it is: I am a part-time photographer,

but have been shooting for over 35 years. Until about 2 years ago, I

used 35mm and medium format film cameras and did a little of

everything from landscapes to portraits to snaps. I am currently

using digital SLRs and doing a lot of work for our rather large

church (at no charge, of course). I have a "day job" as a health care

professional and do not need (but would certainly like to spend)

additional income. I have a good high-end kit with backups for

everything as well as studio lights, so equipment is not a problem.

I have been asked to photograph 4 weddings this year (one toward the

end of February, two in May, and one late summer/early fall) by

people who have seen my photographs. I enjoy this type of thing and

have educated myself on many aspects of wedding photography by

reading, following Photo.net, and looking at lots of examples.

My question is this this: from those of you who entered photography

in a similar way, what are some of the ways I can treat income I make

from photography. I don't want to go through the hassle of getting a

business license and setting up books. Can I treat this as hobby

income for tax purposes? (I suspect this would not allow deducting

photography associated expenses.) Is there a "Small Business Light"

approach that's not too big a headache? I'm sure just declaring the

income as earned income would take a sizeable chunk out of it in

taxes on my regular employment return. I also don't know if this new

activity will continue as a trend or if this is just a fluke...

I would like to hear as many (well founded) suggestions as the forum

can come up with.

First off, see a Tax Accountant because this stuff changes on a regular basis.

As far as I know, it's most likely it's form 1099 income. If you have a full time job, and pay