Blurry action shots with Nikon D60

mel_b

<p>I recently purchased a Nikon D60, my first DSLR. It came with an 18-55mm VR and 55-200mm VR lens, as well as a short instructional dvd, which I watched but did not really find helpful. I previously used a Kodak Easy Share DX 7590 which served me well. I never had problems taking shots at my son's soccer games. No blurry pics, great action shots. So I was excited to buy the D60 and step things up a bit. Granted, I am still learning about the camera, but when I put it on sport mode or auto mode my shots are still blurring. I took pictures of my daughter in gymnastics doing handstands, and I took the pictures while she was kicking up her legs so her feet are blurring in the picture. What am I doing wrong?</p>

<p>If the blurryness (is that a real word) is caused by motion , then you need a faster shutter speed to stop motion. If there is not enough light ,and your camera has the ISO turned all the way up then you might need to get a faster lens. I would set the camera to Apeture priority and open the lens up to the fastest f-stop, which might be 3.5 on the lenses you have. To shoot a action shot in most cases you need a shutter speed of 1/250 or 1/500 to freeze motion, setting the camera as I suggested should (in daylight) give you these speeds. If not then set the ISO or ASA to a higher number till you can shoot at 1/250 or faster.<br>

If the blurry shots are that way because you are not in focus, then try setting the camera for Continous Auto-focus and see if that helps.<br>

If you posted a example it would help to see what you are doing wrong. I hope this helps.</p>

<p>There are few photo situations tougher than indoor sports, especially at the typical school and amateur level. The venues are usually poorly lighted.</p>

<p>So we're speaking more or less the same language, let's use a common photographic term: Exposure Value or EV.</p>