standard lens I can only get good shots if I'm right next to the

play. Need a lens that will capture close-ups of action from across

the field. I tried reading the different reviews on the site, but

quite honestly, because I'm a beginner alot of the terminology was

over my head. I would prefer not to use a tripod. Price range would

be $200-$500.

So in the style of "Zoom Lenses for Dummies" would anyone like to

give me a recommendation? Thanks much!

>>So in the style of "Zoom Lenses for Dummies" would anyone like to give me a recommendation?<<

1) Sports=fast action

a) fast action=faster shutter speed

b) faster shutter speeds=greater amount of light required

c) more light=faster lens (f/2.8 min)

d) faster lens=MUCH MORE $$$ than your budget allows :(

However, if yu shoot *OUTDOOR* the 70-200 f/4L will work perfectly for you (albeit a few dollars over but, worth it!).

So, if outdoor is what you do the 70-200 f/4L is the perfect match for you.

Hi Helen -

In terms of focal length, less than 200mm is going to be too short unless the

action is right in from of you. 200 is really a minimum, 300 is much better. 400

is better still, but out of your (and my!) price range.

At the high end of your budget, consider the 70-200/4 L (~$500 new) or the

200/2.8L (about $450-525 used). The results will look great and lenses are

really well-made and nice to work with.

You could also consider the 75-300 zoom, with (~$400) or without (~$175) IS.

("IS" means Image Stabilized - it's a special feature that helps reduce the

effects of hand-held camera shake). These will be much cheaper, not as nice

to work with and the images won't be as nice (not as "snappy" colors, "softer"

in resolution), but will give you a little more reach.

Also, you could think about buying an inexpensive monopod (~$35), it's a little

cumbersome to tote around, but having a stable paltform to shoot from really

helps.