Best Photography College?

kelsey_bigelow

I am currently an art student studying at a normal 4 year college. However, I

do not feel this college is meeting my needs as a photographer.

I am looking to transfer to another school to study Fashion/Advertising

photography. I have looked at the Brooks Institute and the Art Center College

of Design. We decided against the Brooks Institute but my parents and I were

wondering about the Art Center. We'd heard some negative things about it, like

that it was a technical training school and not a college and were worried

about the tuition versus how much I would make out of school.

Where should I go to recieve the best photo education for fashion/advertising?

Any suggestions outside of Brooks or the Art Center are appreciated!

If you want to consider a RADICAL option, you can come to Canada (where the tuition is less,

god i the government) and attend the Ontario College of Art and Deisgn for Fine Art

photography, or Ryerson University for Media Arts: Photography (good for adverstising and

fashion, very good), Emily Carr in Vancouver for Fine Arts Photo and Nova Scotia College of

Art and Deisgn.

I hear very sketchy things about Brooks, I almost went there but it was strongly suggested

against.

• 3 weeks later...

Brooks and RIT are the best. Hands down. Pasadena Art center is awesome too, but not as

technical- better creatively though (from what I understand) San Francisco has some great art

schools and so does New York. The real learning happens when you start assisting though.

Nothing like hands on experience.

• 4 months later...

I disagree with the suggestions so far.

Brooks is specifically for very very commercial work and much of it is questionable due to lack of conceptual depth and idea... but it will teach you how to write up an invoice and spreadsheet, etc.

You can learn that on your own though.