Best Nikon or Canon DSLR kit under $500?

<p>I'm a committed amateur city-scape photographer who is looking for a good DSLR. I'd prefer a Nikon or a Canon. I've done all the research and read the reviews but it's all conflicting! Can anyone help? Here's what I'm looking for:<br /> <br /> I want a steady workhorse in the $500-600 range (USA), used. That should include a decent 18-200mm name brand lens. I'm not looking to change the lens often. Thus, it needs to be good at adapting to different situations. I intend to take it outside often so it should be fairly weatherproof. I'm not too concerned with how much it weighs considering that the love of my photographic life was my Canon A1. It must have an autofocus option and be above 8 megapixel. I'm not a megapixel snob I simply want to be able to get crisp prints in fairly large sizes.<br /> <br /> Any ideas?</p>

<p>The only 18-200 lens I'd consider would be Nikon's. Unfortunately, you probably won't find many of those in good shape used for $500 - just for the lens. If you want a rugged, weather-resistant DSLR, then look for a lightly used D200. They're getting pretty cheap these days. But the whole rig, in the way you've described it, isn't going to happen for $600, I'm afraid.</p>

<p>Since you are set on Nikon or Canon and have only $500 - $600 you are limited to what ever Nikon or Canon kit that you can find for that price. There is really not much discussion or recommendation here since your budget will definitely limit your choices down to one model of Nikon or Canon. I have not looked at the prices but I am pretty sure that budget will limit you to a Nikon D40 or D40x or the Canon equivalent with a kit lens.</p>