Best Nikon Lense for Makeup/Portrait Photography

dee_j

<p>Hi all,<br>

<br />I'm a makeup artist who just picked up a D3300 Nikon bundle with the standard 18-55mm and 55-200 mm included. <br>

What are your recommendations for other lenses to purchase that work well with portrait photography, and close ups on faces, like eyes, lips, etc? I have noticed picking up pigments can be sort of difficult with my standard lens. I'm guessing I need something more macro?</p>

<p>Thanks!!</p>

<p> </p>

<p>A 105mm macro lens would be the best choice for extreme facial closeups. You will need to stop down for better depth of field, and any subject (or camera) movement will degrade the sharpness. To counter this and get enough light, you will need to use electronic flash of some sort. A ring light (around the lens) is shadowless, but you get better modeling with off-camera units.</p>

<p>Believe it or not, the 55-200 is not a bad lens with proper lighting for portraits. The attached shot was done at 55mm (because we shot in his living room and there wasn't enough space for a longer focal length). Then processed with Lightroom and Portrait Pro Studio. I used two softboxes.<br /> If you set the 55-200 to 105, you'll have the equivalent of a 157.5mm. If you set it to 70mm, it'll be like using a 105mm lens. This is a good way to find out what focal length you really want. Now I use my 70-200mm Nikon at around 105mm with good results. I also get excellent results with my Sigma 70mm prime for macro shots. I use a D7100 Nikon, which has the same crop factor as your D3300.</p><div>00dXRu-558851784.jpg.031dd50266d104eabbb5588dc5396d09.jpg</div>

<p>The 60mm/f2.8 AF-S Macro lens maybe a good choice for portrait + close up: https://www.nikonusa.com/en/nikon-products/product/camera-lenses/af-s-micro-nikkor-60mm-f%252f2.8g-ed.html<br>

It is not exactly inexpensive, though.</p>