Best lens for rock climbing

tom_carter3

I'm looking for a lense to fit my Elan 7e. I've got a 28-105 USM and it's

worked great for me so far. Now I need something to shoot with when I'm taking

pictures of my buddies rock climbing. They can be 90 feet or so up a rock and

I'm back another 50 feet or so from the rock to get a decent angle on them.

So what length lens should I get, and also do you have any reccomendations. I

do need to point out that I'm a broke college student and don't have much to

spend, definately not any more than $500 but I'ld like to keep it around $300.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Tom

It depends on what sort of field of view you want. If you want them to fill about 1/10 of the frame then you would probably need a fairly long lens. If you want your buddies to fill the frame of the photo, then you need a really long focal length lens.

Sorry I can't give specific answers, but maybe try a zoom that goes up to 300mm. They'll be about 3x larger in your photos with a 300mm lens than with a 105mm lens.

I would advise trying to get a vantage point above the ground, preferably equal height or higher than them. Rockclimbing photos of asses are not very good. If you can't climb, perhaps they can rig a toprope for you and let you hang from halfway down the cliff, then just lower you after the climb.

If you are going to be on the ground and using something like a 300mm lens, get a tripod. Even just resting the camera on a rock will be a huge improvement. Also, try to find a good vantage point from the side rather than from behind.

Good luck, and post some photos when you get them.