Best Lap Top Displays

<p>I am not an expert, but given the color bit depth and changes with angle of view in laptops, it's hard to recommend a laptop that is good for anything except casual editing. If you are doing "serious" editing, a NEC or Eizo are the way to go though a search will locate any number of other recommendations. Many use a laptop with an external display successfully. Good luck.</p>

<blockquote>

<p>you wanna order the second least expensive champagne from the wine card, but expect the best one. </p>

</blockquote>

<p>Seems like we are a bit condescending. For $600, he wants to know what is the best laptop he can get for photo editing. What is wrong with that? <br>

Maybe if we don't have anything helpful to say, we should keep our comments to ourself.</p>

<p>So, Alan asks a very important question, one to which I would also like an answer.</p>

<p>I previously had an inexpensive laptop, an HP G42-415DX which I paid <$500 for about 2 years ago. Its screen is very sensitive to angle. At best, it is a poor monitor for photo editing. I frequently had to re-edit photos when I got home to my desktop and reasonably good display.</p>

<p>I now use a Toshiba Portege R830 laptop. It is a $1200 laptop. The display is much better. It is less sensitive to the angle and the photos look better. When I process photos on my laptop and later move them to my desktop, they look great and I rarely if ever have to reprocess them.</p>

<p>The Toshiba R830 specs claim the display is a "13.3" diagonal widescreen TFT display at 1366x768 native resolution" and that it is "LED backlit".</p>

<p>I have seen the displays on Apple MacBooks. They seem better to me. Are they? Can anyone quantify it?</p>