Best Inexpensive Macro Lens for Nikon D40?

adam_c1

<p>I'm just getting started in photography, and would like to get a fairly inexpensive (less than $500, preferable less than $300) lens for my Nikon D40.  I already know that I won't be able to find anything in this price range that will auto focus with my camera body, but that doesn't bother me.<br>

A few specific questions:<br>

I want a lens that will let me take shots of a wide range of subjects - portraits, flowers, as well as bees/bugs... is 90mm a good compromise, or should I get closer to 120mm?<br>

Should I stick with Nikon, or is Tamron/Sigma okay too (I've been looking at the Tamron AF90mm F/2.8 Di 1:1 Macro)?<br>

What's a good lens to get that will 'future proof' me if I decide to get a different camera body in the future that will auto-focus with a vast array of lens (such as a D90, D300, etc.)?<br>

Thanks!</p>

<p>I think the most future proof is the Tamron's manual focus adaptall (latest but just before discontinued) version of the 90mm "f2.8" macro. IMHO, it is just as good as the auto focus version but has better mechanical. You can change the mount (via adapter) to all current 35mm format film/digitals, Nikon, Canon, Pentax/Samsung, Sony, Olympus (via OM), Sigma (via M42) and Leica. Should Contax decided to go back to 35mm, it cover that too.</p>

<p>Tommy Lee - I'm really looking for something that would only need to be future proof on Nikon digital, since my other lenses are currently Nikon, and so is my camera body.  So future proof, but not <em>too</em> future proof... thanks. </p>

<p>I know there's a whole list of lens that I could get, but am wanting something in my price range and good quality, etc...</p>

<p>Few would recommend auto focus for close up work as it has too many limitations.</p>